Wednesday, May 9

Cast changes announced for Aladdin

From Monday 4th June fourteen new cast members are joining the West End production of Aladdin, which is about to celebrate its second birthday at the Prince Edward Theatre.

Joining current cast members Matthew Croke (Aladdin), Jade Ewen (Jasmine), Trevor Dion Nicholas (Genie), Leon Craig (Babkak), Irvine Iqbal (Sultan) and Daniel de Bourg (Kassim) will be Fred Johanson  as Jafar and Julian Capolei  as Omar. Jermaine Woods will take on the role of Iago, having previously covered the role.

Fred Johanson's
previous theatre credits include Pontius Pilate in Jesus Christ Superstar (National and European Tours, Lyceum Theatre, London, Gothenburg Operahouse and Gotalejon Stockhold); Javert in Les Miserables (Malmo Opera House and Copenhangen); Father in Children of Eden (Orebro Pastorat); Jack Favell in Rebecca (Malmo Opera House); Peron in Evita (Malmo Opera House); the title role in The Alchemist (Opera Kristiansun) and Max in Sunset Boulevard (Gothenburg Opera). Fred is also a composer/songwriter and has written his own material as well as writing for other artists including Frida (ABBA), Steve Balsamo, Meja and Jo O'Meara. He wrote a hit single for the Australian Popstars, Scandal'Us, which topped the charts at No.1 for three weeks and went Double Platinum together with the follow-up album that went Platinum.

Jermaine Woods
has previously had roles in Bugsy Malone (Lyric Hammersmith); The Lion King (UK Tour and Lyceum Theatre, West End); Coppelia (White Rock Theatre, Hastings) and All England Dance (Peacock Theatre, London). On screen Jermaine has appeared in Born to Shine (ITV/Kewwhizz); CBeebies (CBBC); As the Bell Rings (Disney Channel); Coming Down the Mountain (BBC); Yo Gabba Gabba!; The Fountain; Lewis (ITV); Miss Marple (Granada Television) and The Paul O'Grady Show (Channel 4).

Julian Capolei
will make his West End debut as Omar. Previous stage productions include Tommy (UK Tour); Sinbad The Sailor (Theatre Royal Stratford East) and Peter Pan (Derby Theatre).

The full 2018/19 cast will include: Koko Basigara, Robertina Bonano, Danny Becker, Angeline Bell, Bianca Cordice, Abigail Climer, Leon Craig, Daniel de Bourg, Nolan Edwards, Melanie Elizabeth, Nordine Ezzahr, Antony Hewitt, Irvine Iqbal, Blythe Jandoo, Abigail Johnson, Travis Kerry, Dann Kharsa, Victoria Layzell, Mitch Leow, Oliver Lidert, Phil Mennell, Richard Murphy, Ian Oswald, Tarisha Rommick, Kyle Seeley, Dominic Sibanda, Ricardo Spriggs, Joshua Steel, Kevin Stephen-Jones, Kayleigh Thandani, Justin Thomas, Damien Winchester and Niko Wirachman.

No comments:

Post a Comment