Tuesday, October 22

Details of UK Theatre Awards

It has just been announced that Jodie Prenger will host this year's UK Theatre Awards on Sunday 27th October at London's Guildhall. This year she  has  been touring the UK in a number of  hit productions including Abigail's Party and Annie, and is currently starring in the tour of The National Theatre's production of A Taste Of Honey, which transfers into the West End in December.

Awards will be presented by performers Denise Black, Lesley Joseph, Gary Wilmot and Ashley Zhangazha, with Emma Rice being presented with the award for Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre by her regular collaborator, the designer Vicki Mortimer.

This year's recipient of the Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts is the theatre producer Cameron Mackintosh. The award will be formally presented at a separate event at the Gielgud Theatre on 28th October which is the  25th anniversary of the theatre's renaming.The Gielgud Award was established by The Shakespeare Guild in 1994. Previous recipients include Kenneth Branagh, Judi Dench, Derek Jacobi, Christopher Plummer, Patrick Stewart, Vanessa Redgrave and Richard Eyre.

The full list of nominations for this year's  Awards is available on the UK Theatre website.

No comments:

Post a Comment